Faster Supercomputers, but no Google?

Well I guess you can’t have everything, especially if you live in China.  I really didn’t know this myself (a little hyperbole), but when I was traveling back and forth to Vietnam over the past two months and stopped in Guangzhou, compliments of Southern China Airlines, I eagerly took my iPad to the airport lounge hoping to connect with family, friends, and colleagues to update them on the status of my travels.  After a few unsuccessful tries on my own, I went to the “reception” area and learned the sad news: no Google in China!

Maybe I am not being completely fair since I only had a very small sample of government censorship in this part of the world.  I’m sure that there are some clever Chinese who have found a “work around” to this internet service blockade, but I really did not spend enough time there to find out,  and what if I did?   Oh yeah,  China is also building supercomputers, and they are the biggest and fastest in the world.  They can now claim global superiority in this area after being fourth in the world only ten years ago.  The United States had been the world leader for all the years before.

Now when you go to China, skip the Great Wall!  I’m sure that you will be equally satisfied with seeing one of these modern wonders in action, supercomputing like nobody else can.

Ray Myers 

 

Leave a Reply

