Vietnam, May 18, 2016

Just wanted to keep you posted on the daily celebrations here in Vietnam.  This is all new to me as well, but I would like to share with you a little bit about what I am learning.  Let’s start off with the national holidays which you probably didn’t know about before.  Today is Ho Chi Minh’s 126th birthday.  Well, he is not really around to celebrate with us, as you know, but there are special exhibits and performances throughout Vietnam especially in Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Saigon).   If you are so inclined,  you can refer to him as “Uncle Ho.” 

Yesterday was Buddha’s birthday.  Like Ho Chi Minh, he is not around to celebrate with us either, having died 2,560 years ago.  Buddhists are still very much a minority in Vietnam, but they are being encouraged by their Supreme Patriarch here to make more contributions to national construction and defense, environmental protection and climate change efforts.  I am not really sure how you can improve your contributions in these areas.  I am just reporting on what I read in the papers here FYI.

Now for some technology news.  May 18th is also Vietnam’s Science and Technology Day.  I don’t think there are any planned national celebrations related to the implementation of educational technology in the schools, but if I hear of anything else, I will pass that information along as well.  If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Ray Myers


Leave a Reply

