Universal Basic Income (U.B.I.) for Everyone – Thank a Robot

Don’t start counting on receiving monthly checks from the government quite yet.  The basic idea here seems to be that  as robots begin doing more of the work traditionally done by humans in our economy and jobs dry up, we should ensure that American workers’ wages will not be negatively impacted.  How about $1,000 a month?  And on top of that, we would all be free to become artists, scholars, entrepreneurs or otherwise engage our passions in a society no longer centered on the drudgery of daily labor.  What a concept!

Blame it all on artificial intelligence, if you are really looking for someone or something to blame.  So I guess it’s all about the intersection of artificial and human intelligence (just made that up).  We will be increasingly living in a world where we can use as much of either as we may want.  But I still think we need to exercise our natural intelligence on a regular basis to keep its “moving parts” working.  I don’t think artificial intelligence works on this same principle?

So excuse me as I go back to reading my daily papers, and drinking my coffee to fuel my brain’s synapses, and try to figure out how to escape the “drudgery of daily labor.”  I don’t think robots have to worry about that.

Ray Myers

P.S.  I will be taking an early spring break next week, but will return on March 21st.  Thanks for reading my posts, or scanning them if you are a robot?


Leave a Reply

